top of page

Dear Mr. Knightley by Katherine Reay


One of the new-to-me authors I discovered this year is Katherine Reay. While browsing through the stacks in my local library, I came across Ms. Reay's Lizzy and Jane, which I enjoyed (think four-star review). Since the library had several other titles available, I continued reading my way through her repertoire. I'm so glad I did! I enjoyed it so much, I read it again within six months. Dear Mr. Knightley has joined the ranks of my favorite books.

Samantha Moore, a young woman who has 'graduated' from the foster care system in Chicago, has spent her entire life trying to hide within the personas of her best friends - characters from her favorite books. Like many children whose childhoods are characterized by insecurity, she has never developed a true sense of identity. Upon her graduation from college, she is given an extraordinary opportunity to continue her studies, but not in her preferred refuge: literature. A generous anonymous benefactor, through a connection to one of her trusted mentors, offers to pay her tuition if she continues her studies at the prestigious Medill School of Journalism. In order to take advantage of this opportunity, Samantha only needs to write letters to her anonymous benefactor.

This work of fiction is considered an 'epistolary novel,' or fiction in which the story is revealed through a series of written documents. Through her letters to her mysterious patron, dubbed "Mr. Knightley," we are privy to her struggle to find an authentic voice as a journalist and her tenuous forays into relationship with living, breathing people rather than characters in a book. Samantha's self-documented feeble early attempts toward both professional and personal development lead to growing self-awareness and a gently unfurling tale well worth reading. (And re-reading!)

Ms. Reay clearly loves classic literature and gives significant nods to great novels in the construction of her own. Readers will recognize elements of the century old novel Daddy-Long-Legs by Jean Webster and frequent references to characters from beloved classics. As both an avid reader and an introvert who often views the world through bookish lenses, I found myself identifying with Samatha's journey toward discovering her true self and learning to relate authentically to others.

Dear Mr. Knightley was a heart-warming story of personal growth and a tender romance. I highly recommend this sweet book. I purchase very few books, but this one will be added to my personal library. After writing my glowing review, I think I'll re-read it. Again.

bottom of page