top of page

Paper Hearts by Courtney Walsh

While browsing my local library's shelves, I came across this title. As I scanned spines, this book grabbed my attention. The premise seemed sweet, and fit within the "Inspirational Fiction" category I prefer, so I picked it up. While I enjoyed parts of the story, it just fell a bit flat. Abigail Pressman runs a bookstore in Love's Park, Colorado. Unfortunately, her hometown is famous for not only its charming location, but also the town founders' - her great-grandparents - legendary love story. Abigail has been living in both the shadow of that epic romance and her own parents' divorce. After a failed long-term relationship of her own, she has given up on the idea of romance and happily ever after. When a handsome doctor purchases the building in which her store is located, Abigail discovers that her beloved book shop is in danger of being swallowed in his renovations. The Valentine Volunteers, a group of Love's Park ladies who assist the community with all things Love's Park themed, step in and attempt to help Abigail with her business problems and her love life. While the story is cute, it paralleled the movie You've Got Mail (and its predecessor, The Shop Around the Corner) far too much for my taste. Don't get me wrong - I LOVE those movies and the show She Loves Me, which is a musical theater version of The Shop Around the Corner. This book, however, lost the careful pacing the director of You've Got Mail was careful to expand. The seasons passed, the characters' hostility softened, the tension grew... Ms. Walsh didn't build that slow burn. The story felt rushed, the dialogues tilted toward the implausible, and the secondary cast of characters felt more like caricatures. I love a good romance. I don't even mind a sappy romance. Somehow, this one didn't quite hit the spot for me. I wouldn't say I disliked it, but neither would I heartily recommend it to a friend. It was a solid "meh."

A modified version of this review has also been posted on Goodreads.com.

bottom of page