top of page

Free Book Friday

We all love books. Well, I hope so. If not, honey, you're reading the wrong blog. And do you know what's even better than a book? You guessed it. A free book!

Our friends at Bethany House have recently started a new Facebook group specifically for book giveaways! If you want to stay "in the know" about book giveaways, click here. The link will take you to the Facebook group. You will have to answer a question about your favorite authors or genres in order to prove you're a real live person.

In addition, Christianbook.com and Amazon.com often have a selection of free e-books available on their websites. I have downloaded literally hundreds of these free e-books in the past. (As mentioned in a previous post, for a while I was reading them on my iPhone until hubby upgraded me to an iPad Mini. I really didn't mind, but I'm sure my eyes thank him.) I don't mind taking a chance on a new author on Christianbook.com, but sometimes my explorations of new authors on Amazon have been *ahem* not worthy of finishing. Right now, both Amazon and Christianbook.com are offering a free e-book by an author worth reading.

A Distant Melody is the first book in Sarah Sundin's series, Wings of Glory. The series follows three brothers who serve as pilots during World War II. In A Distant Melody, a rather shy and insecure young woman named Allie corresponds with an American B-17 bomber pilot stationed in Great Britain. The sweet friendship which develops is overshadowed by the heavy expectations placed upon Allie by her parents and her fiancé. Allie must choose between her obligations and her heart. My eldest son loves reading as much as his mother and is obsessed with not only historical fiction, but also history in general. This book gets not only my seal of approval, but also his.

If you have a Kindle or a tablet with either the Kindle or ChristianBook app, check to see if this book is still available for free!

bottom of page