top of page

"Don't Miss" Monday - "A Cup of Dust" by Susie Finkbeiner


Pearl Spence lives in a small town along the Red River in Oklahoma. Well, the Red River used to flow nearby. Now it's just a broad scar in the earth, a faint echo of all that has been lost. Pearl only vaguely remembers the whisper of grass against her bare feet and waving heads of wheat in the fallow fields.

Susie Finkbeiner tells the story of rural Oklahoma during the Dust Bowl by revealing it through the eyes of ten-year-old Pearl. The setting she spins in this novel will transport readers to the barren landscape and desperate times, but it is the characters who make the novel truly unforgettable. Pearl's family and neighbors spring to life, and readers will find themselves captivated by Pearl's plucky perspective. While the story is narrated from the viewpoint of a ten-year-old, parents should be aware that some thematic elements may be inappropriate for younger readers or require thoughtful discussion. The Dust Bowl and Depression Era were steeped in desperation, grief, and loss. While the author is tactful, Pearl's purview includes some saturation in topics parents may want their young readers to avoid.

I just finished re-reading the first book of Pearl's story for the second (or third?) time, and as soon as I finished it, I immediately logged into Overdrive and checked out the second book from my local library. I also requested the latest installation of Pearl's story, which was released in November, 2017. Somehow, the release of this latest book escaped my notice, and I'm suddenly on pins and needles! (Thankfully I have Vacation Bible School duties and book #2 in the series to keep me distracted for a few days while I wait.) While these novels are rather short on romance and long on heartache, they are hauntingly, achingly beautiful and definitely make my "don't miss" and "re-read" list.

Don't miss this fabulous series from Susie Finkbeiner!

bottom of page