top of page

"An Hour Unspent" by Roseanna M. White


Barclay Pearce, former thief extraordinaire, has encountered Jesus and turned from crime to espionage. His knowledge of London's underworld and mastery of Robin Hood techniques now serve the Crown. He's also the patriarch of a brood of fellow orphans who have claimed one another as family. When his assignment to steal plans which could turn the tide of the war brings him into contact with a lovely young woman whose wit and grit match his own, will she steal this thief's heart?

Evelina Manning chafes at the restrictions of her handicap, her mother's expectations, and society's gender roles. She kicks at the traces of these impediments, yet can't quite shake their weight. Beneath her boldness, her tender heart longs for acceptance. The love shared among Barclay and his rag-tag band of "siblings" draws her like a moth to flame. When she is suddenly pulled far deeper into his assignment than anyone could predict, will his secrets drive them apart and threaten everything she loves?

I was unaware when I began reading that this is the third (and final) novel in a series. I had not read the previous two books in the series, and it was pretty evident within the opening chapters that I was entering a story already in progress. While the plot line of this novel could stand alone, the cast of secondary characters was a confusing whorl. The primary characters, however, were well-developed and relatable. Ms. White does an admirable job of developing Evelina, a budding feminist and suffragist, whose desire for significance and equitable treatment are juxtaposed against both the rigid strictures of the early 20th century and the exploitive machinations of some political reformers.

While I enjoyed the book, I found some of the twists and turns rather dizzying. Some major events seemed disconnected from the rest of the action, although I understand their inclusion from a perspective of historic significance. While I liked Barclay and Evelina as characters, I was often frustrated by moments when their interaction seemed forced or they acted in a way which seemed 'out of character.' (Admittedly, it feels strange as a reader to make judgements about what is 'in' or 'out of character' for characters I did not write!) The dialogue just often felt relationally inauthentic and the plot hit some rough patches.

Overall, I enjoyed the book, but with reservations. It didn't grip me and pull me along. I willingly finished, but was happy to set it aside and move on to my next read. Readers who enjoy clean historical fiction, however, may find this a satisfyingly sweet tale. Since sites like Goodreads don't offer the option of a half star, I gave the book the benefit of 'rounding up' and assigned it a four star rating. I don't plan to immediately read the other books in the series, though.

I received a free Advance Reader Copy of the book from the publisher through Celebrate Lit, and my review is completely my own thoughts and opinions.

In celebration of the book's release, the author is giving away a signed copy of the book, a mug, and a tea sampler. Click here to enter the giveaway! Don't just take my word for it, though. Click here to visit the Celebrate Lit Tour Page and click on the blogs stops to read other bloggers' reviews and enter the giveaway again!

bottom of page